Sometimes your chosen family is the best family

390973_292537207465191_243388962380016_901373_1935409237_n

 

Over the years the topic of family has always been a sensitive subject for me, as I’m sure some of you can relate. When questions would arise around where my family was I would simply reply out of habit that “I don’t really have a “family.” Although that is pretty true in the literal sense; it’s SO not true! I actually have family members coming out of my ears! What do I mean by that? I have tons of members of MY family  that are simply chosen family and sometimes that’s the best family you can have. Of course this isn’t meant to discount any REAL family members, but the topic of chosen family is great!

I’ve always found solace with my friends aka my family. Sometimes when you don’t have the biological family stuff down you will find that you overcompensate with friendships. I would say this is the case for me. Luckily for me; I’ve created the most amazing family I could ever dream of having. I believe in setting standards for the quality of a person you will “allow” in your inner circle. This means that just because you’ve had to tolerate some bullshit from your family simply out of “obligation” because they’re “blood related”; does NOT mean you have to tolerate any bullshit from your friends or your chosen family. Set the standard high for the kind of people you want in your life and the right people will show up…and stay.

“What you put up with you end up with ~ Mastin Kipp”

Families have their ups and downs and your chosen family will be no different. Life is an interesting journey (to say the least!) You’ve got to have your people; a support system, to get through those ups and downs. Let’s face it, the blood related family may not be able, willing or capable of being there for you in your time of need, but members of your chosen family will be. Find your people, be thankful for them and nurture those relationships. Sometimes they will be the only people standing by your side.

Having a chosen family means that you get to have different experiences and viewpoints since your family is full of so many different and awesome people! I absolutely love my chosen family and I wouldn’t be where I am today without them. I love my chosen family!

Dear Chosen Family,
Thank you for allowing me to be a part of your family. Thank you for allowing me into your homes; especially around the holidays. Thank you for standing by my side when my world has fallen apart. Thank you for supporting me, loving me and for giving me advice. Thank you for the laughs, the cries, and the many conversations. Thank you for making me an Auntie so many nieces and a few nephews! Thank you for the hugs and words of encouragement. Thank you for helping me celebrate my successes and for sharing some of my most special moments with me. Without all of you; my family, I wouldn’t be where or who I am today. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Hugs and Loves,
Wishes for the Soul
Tianna Leigh

2 thoughts on “Sometimes your chosen family is the best family

Leave a Reply

