What I Learned in my 20’s and why I’m excited for my 30’s

31c671e94cd8229688880190b2ab6321

I can remember turning 20 and thinking “WOW…I’m really an adult!” While that may be true; the 20’s proved to be a series of twists and turns and a lot of “finding myself” throughout the process. You know what though? That’s exactly what the 20’s are for I’ve come to find! Very rarely will you have it all figured out in your 20’s; in fact I’d recommend NOT having it all together – it makes it much more interesting!

I learned oh so many things! When I thought I was supposed to be going right; I was supposed to go left. When I thought I was supposed to be settled down; I was supposed to be free as a bird to achieve my highest potential. When I thought I understood what was important; I was shown what is truly important. When I thought I was ready to be a mother; I had to learn to trust the process. When I thought I’d be “friends forever” with people; life had different plans. When people told me they would be here “no matter what”; I had to know “no matter what” really comes with some stipulations. Through it all; I got to know myself…which is invaluable.

When someone shows you who they are; believe them the first time ~ Maya Angelou

Over the last decade; I’ve had to learn to let go and roll with the punches. Don’t think that I don’t struggle with the “what if’s” because that’s just the nature of the game but I don’t make it a focal point in my life to ponder the coulda, shoulda, woulda. Trust me; it’s exhausting to focus on that stuff! Instead I learned to appreciate each day and each moment and focus on what IS. In the end, I’ve learned somehow, someway things ALWAYS work out the way they should have. Learn to trust the process.

That brings me to my next lesson learned. There are times in my life I wasn’t sure I’d survive another moment because of my world flipping upside down and my heart being broken. I’ve lost faith, drive, motivation, and sometimes hope at times in my 20’s. Although I’ve come to realize that you can’t fit a round peg in a square hole….man I must be getting older using those kinds of sayings, but it’s true! The only person you have control of is YOU! That’s it. You control your actions, non actions and your thoughts. Thoughts truly dictate your outlook and your attitude in life. Might as well choose the positive and happy thoughts then right?

Thoughts become things; choose the good ones! ~ Mike Dooley

Even though I’m turning 30; it doesn’t mean I have it all figured out. Far from it! In fact, I don’t care how old you are; I don’t think you’ll ever have it figured out and that is part of the fun. Enjoy the journey. Each friendship, relationship, mistake, job, choice has made you who you are. Learn to love yourself through it all. It has taken awhile…30 years in fact…to even get to a point where I’m content with myself and my life. I’m finally at a place in my life where I require no approval from anyone but myself. I do things because I want to do things. The people I surround myself with make me happy. The things I read teach me the right things and make me feel good. The things I do are good for my soul and spirit.

As I reflect on the last 10 years of my life I think I’ve done pretty well. I may have stumbled along the way, but I’ve always gotten back up! I’m still working on myself because “a true master never stops learning” and if you can keep getting better, why not?! I’ve heard that the 30’s are “the best years of your life” and “much better than your 20’s” and it all sounds great. No matter what they end up being; I’m excited to start this new chapter. I have a clearer sense of who I am, where I’m going and what my purpose is. I know that I deserve the best and all the things I dream of will happen just as they should. In the meantime, I’ll keep enjoying getting to know myself.

To those of you who have stood by my side through it all; thank you from the bottom of my heart. To those who have come and gone; thank you for the role you played in my life and what I learned from you. I’m so excited for what my future holds and I look forward to sharing it with you all. This is the beginning of one of the greatest decades of my life…I can feel it!

On that note…see ya 20’s; and hellooooo 30’s!

Hugs and Loves,

Wishes for the Soul

Tianna Leigh

One thought on “What I Learned in my 20’s and why I’m excited for my 30’s

Leave a Reply

