Earlier today I had a thought…what if I had never met you?

What does a girl really need to get through life…girlfriends! I would not be here today; quite literally…if it had not been for the warm embraces, wiping of the tears and words of encouragement that I have received from my girlfriends over the years. My girlfriends have been my lifeline and really the loves of my life. Thinking of them makes me miss them even more- but also so very thankful that I have so many wonderful women to miss.

What do you do on a bad day? Typically you want to run and get a hug from your friend. You want to sit and talk; have some wine; have a cry; have a laugh. Perhaps all you want is to be in their presence….where they will ask “how are you” and when you lie and say “fine” they will know the truth. Real girlfriends will tell you the truth no matter what. They will encourage you; bring you back to earth; tell you when you’re wrong; tell you when to take a chill pill and can give you the reality check you may need at times. What’s amazing is that no matter what they are going through; they can always find enough strength to be strong for you and say exactly what you need to hear. When the whole world seems as though it makes no sense, your girls can always make you feel better.

As you get older it is harder to stay in touch with some people as life may take you in different directions. True girlfriends can pick up right where they left off no matter how much time has passed. Just the sound of their voice can bring clarity and can make you feel whole again. Reflect on your special bonds and cherish the hugs, the laughs, the pictures, the memories and know that no one can break the bond you create with your girlfriends.

So for my girls that are reading this I thank you from the bottom of my heart for:

always believing in me

loving me

holding my hand

being my strength and encouragement

knowing when to give me space and on the contrary when to never leave me alone

having faith when  I had none

being a source of  light when I’d been lost in the dark

It may have been the encouraging words or just having an open door policy so I would never have to be alone. I know that I for one, am forever indebted and truly grateful for the amazing women in my life.

© Tianna Wahl and http://www.wishesforthesoul.wordpress.com, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Tianna Wahl and http://www.wishesforthesoul.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

One thought on “Earlier today I had a thought…what if I had never met you?

  1. Lisa says:

    I just now have had a moment to read this posting. So truly said Tianna and beautifully written. I am so glad to be your friend!

Leave a Reply

