What would the you now tell yourself then?

If I knew then what I know now. How many times have we used that phrase? I know I have many times 🙂 Although we must remember that every experience we go through brings more and more clarity for the next experiences that are yet to come.

I was reflecting the other day about myself in certain situations and hanging my head in shame wondering “what was I thinking?!” Thinking what a fool I must have looked like. How lost I must have seemed. How pathetic I acted in certain situations and of course I’m sure the woe is me list could go on and on, but that’s not what I’m focusing on! 😉 I had to remember that we all make decisions based on the information we have at that exact moment. We always think we know way more than we really do. 🙂 Every year that goes on I’m sure we look back and realize that we didn’t know as much as we thought! Obviously we can’t go back and change the things we have done but we can learn from them and do better going forward. We can always decide to drop the baggage and feel lighter by doing so. Give yourself a break. We all do our “best” so keep loving yourself.

I remember sitting at lunch one day and asking some of my trusted friends “what would you tell yourself knowing what you know now to yourself at age 25?” They pondered for a minute but all the answers had the same theme. They all said things like the older you get the clearer things become; the less you worry and that the things that are a “big deal” now really don’t matter in the long run. It seems that they were absolutely correct. The older you get the wiser you get (in theory) At least you become clearer on who you are, what you want and of course what you don’t want which means you are in a better position to decide the right path the first go around. It is pretty liberating to get more and more comfortable in your own skin and know that you’re creating your future one simple step at a time.

So if “I knew then what I know now” I guess I wouldn’t really be the person I am today who carries all of those experiences in my back pocket to reflect on and help me shape my future. I think that would be pretty sad because every triumph, struggle, stumble, accomplishment, heartbreak etc have all helped to shape the me I am today; and in turn the you that you are today! 🙂

Be thankful for your mistakes as they will inevitably teach you valuable lessons.

© Tianna Wahl and http://www.wishesforthesoul.wordpress.com, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Tianna Wahl and http://www.wishesforthesoul.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

One thought on “What would the you now tell yourself then?

Leave a Reply

